Poland - Krakow

Krakow is the second largest and one of the oldest cities in Poland. Situated on the Vistula River, the city dates back to the 7th century. Krakow has traditionally been one of the leading centers of Polish academic, cultural, and artistic life and is one of Poland's most important economic hubs. It was the capital of Poland from 1038 to 1596.

The city has grown from a Stone Age settlement to Poland's second most important city. It began as a hamlet on Wawel Hill. The name of Kraków is traditionally derived from Krakus, the legendary founder of Kraków and a ruler of the tribe of Poles.

Krakow, the cultural capital of Poland, was named the official European Capital of Culture for the year 2000 by the European Union. It is a major attraction for both local and international tourists, attracting seven million visitors a year. Major landmarks include the Main Market Square with St. Mary's Basilica and the Sukiennice Cloth Hall, the Wawel Castle, the National Art Museum, the Zygmunt Bell at the Wawel Cathedral, and the medieval St Florian's Gate with the Barbican along the Royal Coronation Route.

The city of Krakow is known as the city of churches. Krakow has 28 museums and public art galleries. Among them are the main branch of Poland's National Museum and the Czartoryski Museum, the latter featuring works by Leonardo da Vinci and Rembrandt.

The legend about the Wawel Dragon

authorSTREAM - more

The Wawel Dragon - Ola and Daria animations

GIFninja - more
Puzzle with a dragon

preview35 pieceOla sz

Brak komentarzy:

Prześlij komentarz